Meet Amanda Mcmannes – Benefits Administrator

At QBS, we believe it’s important that our clients and vendors get to know who you are working with, and who’s working for you, each and every day. This month, we are starting back up our “Meet the Team” series and would like to introduce you to Amanda McMannes who recently celebrated her 1-year anniversary with QBS.

How long have you worked at QBS and what is your role?  I’ve worked at QBS since August 13, 2018 and I’m one of the Benefit Administrators.  I work to help the QBS clients that utilize our benefits administration services — from setting up deductions and enrolling employees,  to setting up plans for onboarding and renewals.  I also work directly with our controller on our 401K offerings and assist with the bill reconciliation.

What’s your favorite part of your job?  My favorite part of the job is being able to assist clients with questions or problems.  Oftentimes clients or employees call in when they don’t understand something, I really enjoy being able to educate them on the process and provide insights and share knowledge regarding their benefits.

What is one of the biggest challenges you face in your role? Honestly, I also love the challenges that comes with the position.  I think one of the biggest challenges is when we receive a plan that is unique. Whether it’s the plan specifications or the way the employer contributes, it can be tricking to ensure we set up that plan to meet the individual needs of that client properly in the system and to also make sure it comes out correctly for payroll.

QBS has experienced year-over-year growth, what do you think makes it special? Having past experiences work in the PEO industry I would say what makes QBS special is “we” (QBS) always goes above and beyond to accommodate our clients.  I think we always try to treat each client like they’re our only client and I believe clients see and feel that dedication. It means a lot to them.

What’s one interesting fact about you that we may not know?  I was born and bred in Kentucky and my dream car is a 1967 Chevy Impala!  Even though I’ve been in the South for a while — from being stationed at military bases in GA to KS and now living in SC — I will never ever stop using the word “pop” to reference any Coke or Pepsi product!

Anything else you’d like to share? (Family, Hobbies, etc.?)  I have 3 kids, twin 12-year-old girls and an 8-year-old boy.  We love watching Cincinnati Bengals football, University of Kentucky basketball and going to Cincinnati Red’s games when we visit family and friends back home.