Meet Alexis Hite – Onboarding Specialist

How long have you worked at QBS and what is your role?
I’ve worked at QBS for about nine months now as an Onboarding Specialist.  Essentially, what that means, is that I specialize in testing the online onboarding system for one of our clients and whenever a new update is made, it’s my job to ensure it’s working properly. Also, whenever a client is having an issue, I help diagnose and fix it for them.

What’s your favorite part of your job?
I think my favorite part of my job is getting to solve issues for our clients. I enjoy puzzles and getting to figure out what’s wrong and how to fix it is interesting. Even the smallest inconsistency can turn out to be a much bigger issue within the system, so finding those small errors, and either fixing them or reporting them, is satisfying to me.

What is one of the biggest challenges you face in your role?
One of the biggest challenges I face in my role is keeping up with the tiny changes being made within the system.  Being detail-oriented is incredibly vital because I’ve learned the hard way that even the slightest change can cause a massive issue.

QBS is not your typical payroll and benefits firm. What do you think makes it unique?
I think the obvious answer here would be the fact that we’re on a farm, but outside of that, the family atmosphere and the actual passion I see for the work seems incredibly unique to me. I grew up with a mom who worked in a similar industry and she is very passionate about her work too so seeing that in everyone here is nice because it adds a little bit of home to the workplace.

What’s one interesting fact about you that we may not know?
I’ve always had a true love and passion for creativity, whether it’s writing, drawing, or designing. It ultimately led me to start a small business where I create flyers/cards/invitations/announcements, etc. for people and events. I’ve done a few wedding invitations for people and a bridal shower announcement as well as graduation announcements.

Anything else you’d like to share? (Family, Hobbies, etc.?)
I lived in Columbus, OH for about 10 years before moving to Oxford, OH for college (Miami University—it was a university before Florida was a state!) and then right after college, I moved down here to Greenville. I have two cats, Cleo and Oliver, who are more like dogs and are the lights of my life, and I’m the middle child of five—two older brothers, a younger brother, and a younger sister.